The Obadiah Brown Society

More than 200 years ago, Moses Brown’s son, Obadiah (1771-1822), established a model of giving for all who care about MB. His gift of $100,000—at that time, the largest single bequest given to an educational institution in the United States—built a strong financial foundation for the school. Obadiah’s influence and vision along with his recognition of the need for imperishable endowment left a legacy of excellence in education which continues at MB today.

Since that time, many have chosen to leave a legacy that lasts by making planned gifts through bequests, life income gifts, or other deferred giving arrangements. The Obadiah Brown Society recognizes and honors the alumni, parents, Friends, and friends of Moses Brown who have thoughtfully provided for MB in their wills and other estate plans.

Membership in the The Obadiah Brown Society involves no dues, obligations, or solicitations; however, it does provide MB with the opportunity to acknowledge your gift, and it may inspire the generosity of others. The most important benefit you will receive by joining The Obadiah Brown Society is the satisfaction derived from making a lasting contribution to MB's long-term growth.

If you have provided for MB in your estate plan and have not notified the school, please complete our membership form or contact Perry Buroker, Director of Leadership Giving, at 401-831-7350 ext. 289 so that we may acknowledge your generosity.

«««««««« »»»»»»»»

Moses Brown is deeply grateful to The Obadiah Brown Society members listed below who are continuing a tradition of philanthropy that allows MB to remain a leader in independent school education.

Anonymous (6)
Mark Richard Alperin '76
Frohman Anderson '80 P'10 '12
Peter Hoyle Armstrong '52
Barbara and James Bachand P'84
Robert Gifford Berry '40
Zenas W. Bliss '44
Russell A. Boss '57
Jeffrey G. Brier '71
Anne and David Burnham
Richard H. W. Chadwell '51
Thomas Chappell '61 and Katherine Chappell
William Howard Claflin '46
Americo W. and Judith L. Colaluca P'92 '97
Ellen and Charles Collis P'80 '81 '87
Sarah E. Crane '91
Melissa MacGillivray Dane '87
Donald Dwares '55 P'92 '94
Peter Lance Dwares '62
Harley A. Frank '81
Mary Jo Griffin GP'96 '98
Gordon Holmes '56
Charles P. Isherwood '40
E. Gardner Jacobs, Jr. '43
Amy Roebuck Jones '79
Richard H. Jones '42
Peter E. Lacaillade '67
Theodore Low '44 P'81
Will Mackenzie '56
Stanley Markowitz '46
Douglas P. Marquis '58
William C. McClaskey '57
James R. McCulloch '70 P'08
Bruce G. McInnes '55
Terrence Moran '76 P'06 '08
Bill Myers '48 P'77 '79
C. Rodney O'Connor '50
Lester N. Odams '47
King B. Odell
Harmon A. Poole, Jr. '42
Beth Prairie '89
John and Marianne Renza P'90 '94
Ann and Robert Rheault P'09 '11
Donna and Stuart Robinson P'87 '89
Gail S. Samdperil '81
Bob Samors '77
Francis B. Sargent '48 P'73
Turner C. Scott '66
Craig S. C. Shaw '48 P'78 '82
A. Homer Skinner, Jr. '38
Reza Taleghani '90
Stephen Toro
Leonard J. Triedman '46 P'75 '78 '81
Paul H. Welch '53
Wade M. Wilks '66
Dan Winston '05
Dean Stuart Woodman '46 P'78



© Pentera, Inc. Planned giving content. All rights reserved.